When Life Gives You Lemons…

When life gives you a hard lesson, choose to celebrate, understand and receive the gifts.

bubbles citrus citrus fruit close up
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

celebrate and make lemonade. First of all I love lemons. I don’t mean the sour ones in the metaphor. I mean the real ones, specifically the Meyer variety. I know the real saying doesn’t have the word “celebrate,” but I thought it was a nice touch and a great way to help understand the really shitty stuff that life sometimes gives us. I’m referring to the lessons, people and situations we look back on or are currently dealing with that cause us great pain and disturbance.

I’ve been told by many wise teachers that the real pains in our sides are in fact our greatest teachers. I know, it’s a hard pill to swallow. It would be so much more satisfying to despise, give into self-pity, complain or even give hate back, and perpetuate the cycle, but then again that is not what I do, desire or believe in. After all this is a blog about kindness. So I am adding the celebration portion to this saying to help me understand and own that the lemons are my lessons to learn. Yes, it would be easier to blame, oh but blame is such a nasty habit and it doesn’t look good on anyone. As Louise Hay often said, blame is really just an act of pointing fingers and ultimately giving all of our power away.  I don’t know about you, but I’d rather learn the lesson, celebrate and create something wonderful. I choose to celebrate the lemon lessons, the lemon people and the lemon situations in my life. I even choose to be grateful, for now I have an abundance of sweet, delicious lemonade to drink, share and nourish my soul with.

With Kindness,

Jennifer

Author: Jennifer Palazzo

I am a writer, digital marketer, yoga instructor, mom, and pursuer of truth, kindness, delicious & healthy foods, natural alternatives to mainstream products and the best gluten free foods available. Follow me as I explore the wonders of living a kind, vibrant and healthy life.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.